top of page
Search
  • SwipSearch

7 Tough Interview Questions and How to Answer Them


You've applied for your dream job. You go about your daily business and receive an invite to an interview! Yay!


Now comes the hard part. Acing that interview and sealing the deal. All eyes are on you. There's going to be some tough questions, but how do you answer them?!


Well we've selected 7 tough interview questions that you may well get asked, and how to answer them, just to give you a little head start.


What is your biggest weakness?


No one likes this question, and you probably wonder why they want you to tell them what you're rubbish at, but the idea behind this question, is to see if you have a sense of self awareness and if you're consciously trying to improve on this weakness. Here's an example of a good answer:


I'm quite self motivated, and therefore find it hard sometimes to delegate responsibility, if I know I can do the task well by myself. However, I realised that if I wanted to be a successful manager, I need to be able to delegate. In order for me to do this, but still feel like I have a sense of control, I now use a project management system, which enables me to oversee the progress of a project. I've really noticed an increase in my delegation of tasks since using this system and my team have also recognised my improvement


This answer, shows your sense of flexibility, which is so important for long term growth within a role. It also shows that you have leadership and initiative, by introducing a new system and process, despite your weakness of delegation.


Why are you leaving/did you leave your current/most recent role?


This is quite an important question and it's not to catch you out. If anything, it helps employers work out if the role they're interviewing you for is a good fit, and they can provide you with something that maybe your previous employer couldn't. NEVER bad mouth a company (people talk), but be honest about your reasons for leaving. A good example is below:


I love where I work at the moment, and the people and the culture of the company is amazing. However, I'm now at a point where there isn't much opportunity for growth, which doesn't really match with my own personal career goals. I love what I do, but I do want to be able to progress in my career


Why do you want to work here?


Not everyone asks this question, or they may ask you in a different way, but it's asked to make sure you've done your research into the company and you've put some real thought into working for them. So if you haven't done that yet, get clicking on their "About Us" page! Here's a good example of an answer:


I'm excited at the prospect of working here, because the company really does match my values. I wanted to work at a company that's battling a real life issue, and after doing my research, I could see that this is the main focus of the company. Your company is forward thinking, and has the most up to date technology which shows your progression really have their ear to the ground when it comes to digital media.


Tell us about yourself


Most people think this is an opportunity for them to reel off their CV. What we must remember, is that the employer has already seen your CV and probably has it right in front of them! Think of this question as a sales pitch. It's your chance to sell your skills and show what value you can bring to the company.


I am an administrative assistant with seven years of experience in SMEs. I have reported to various levels within these organisations, including the senior management team and board of directors. My skills include the ability to work with all levels of people in the organisation, as well as using personal computers for word processing, spreadsheets, and presentation materials. I also enjoy learning new software packages. I feel one of my strong points is the ability to handle multiple priorities in a fast-paced environment.


What did you like/dislike about your previous role?


This question focuses more on your tone than what your actual answer is. The company wants to see, if you're a complainer. Try to focus on the positive, and make sure you don't whine about what could be essential tasks in your future role:


I can be a bit of an introvert sometimes, so I really appreciated the fact that my line manager allowed me to work independently, without much supervision. This allowed me to keep my head down and get on with y job. The only thing I disliked about the position was that the funding for the project we worked on was always in jeopardy – a common problem, and one I helped to remediate by writing a few grant proposals that were funded by "A business"


Describe a time you've had to make a difficult decision at work


This question is simply to see your decision making and problem solving skills, so keep the answer short, sweet and relevant. They want to see how you handle stressful situations, and what positive characteristics you possess that can be applied to the position:


As an ops manager in a previous position, it was part of my job to increase the efficiency of the company's production line. I discovered and analysed a new technology system that would increase production by 30 percent, however it contained programming that would make certain employee positions virtually obsolete. I came up with a plan that implemented the new system and provided cross-training for employees- which enabled us to keep employees but move them vertically around the business and ultimately increase revenue for the business.


If we spoke to your previous manager, what would they say about you?


Another opportunity for an employer to see your strengths and weaknesses. Not your chance to brag. Depending on your answer, an employer can see why you were such an asset to a previous company:


My last boss would probably say that I am always ready for a challenge and that when I was presented with a difficult situation in my past position, I was able to tackle it with ease. I think that my ability to solve problems in any given situation is something that sets me apart as an employee.


This is the hardest part of any job application, because you have to think on your feet and really make a great first impression with your potential employer. Make sure you take time to prepare by thinking of what kind of questions they could ask you and have examples ready for different situations. They've seen something in you from your CV alone, so make sure you SHINE. Good luck!


4 views0 comments
bottom of page